Samar Mobile Website
Santol Bridge along Biliran-Naval Road Section
Santol Bridge along Biliran-Naval Road Section, Brgy. San Isidro, Biliran, DPWH Biliran District Engineering Office (DEO) is now preparing for the Program of Works (POW) for the restoration not only of the Santol Bridge Abutment but also of other bridges with damaged approaches and slope protection.

P64.9M fund allocated for the repair of damaged national roads and bridges in Biliran caused by typhoon Urduja

Press Release
June 6, 2018

NAVAL, Biliran – The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH)- Biliran District Engineering Office (DEO) received P64.9M to repair/restore damaged national roads and bridges in the province caused by typhoon Urduja.

David P. Adongay Jr., District Engineer said that the budget will be charged against the Disaster-Related and Emergency Rehabilitation Fund including National Bridges under the year 2018 General Appropriation Act (GAA), Republic Act (R.A) 10964.

“P49.1M is allocated for the repair/ restoration of 12 Bridge abutments and P15.8M for the repair/ restoration of six slope protections along the national road,” said Adongay.

Biliran is one of the severely hit areas in Eastern Visayas Region during the onslaught of tropical storm Urduja on December 15-16, 2017 due to landslides and floods.

According to Adongay, preparation of Program of Works (POW) and Plans for the repair of said typhoon-damaged infrastructures is now on-going.

Slope Protection Structure subject for repair/ restoration are located at Sitio Cabradilla, Brgy. Bato, Biliran, Biliran along Biliran Circumferential Road (BCR); Slope protection along BCR, Brgy. Bato, Biliran, Biliran; Slope Protection along Naval-Caibiran Cross Country Road (NCCR) Cabadiangan Detour, Naval, Biliran; Slope Protection along NCCR, Macalpe, Brgy. Cabibihan, Caibiran, Biliran; and two Slope protections along BCR, Mokalbukal, Catmon, Naval, Biliran.

Subject for the repair/ restoration of bridge abutments are the Santol Bridge, Moog Bridge, and Busali Bridge at Biliran, Biliran; Mapuyo Bridge, Madao Bridge, Ungali Bridge and Tucdao Bridge at Kawayan, Biliran; Mapula Bridge and Mainit Bridge at Caibiran, Biliran, Talibong Bridge and Balaquid Bridge at Cabucgayan, Biliran and Bagongbong Bridge at Almeria, Biliran.

Adongay revealed that construction for the new CarayCaray Bridge and Catmon Bridge at Naval, Biliran will be included in the district’s 2019 project implementation.

It can be recalled that said bridges were badly damaged during the onslaught of typhoon Urduja. These are among the major bridges that connects the province to mainland Leyte.

The Province of Biliran is one of the country’s smallest provinces with a land area of 536 square kilometers and a population of 171,612 as of 2015. Formerly a sub-province of Leyte, it became an independent province in 1992.

More News:
Occupied housing units in EV reaches 975,625
Workers condemn NEDA statement as insult and out of touch
Say NO to entitlements
226 Northern Samar farmers receive CLOAs from DAR
Workers demands BIR return P20B pesos tax refund it owed to workers to mitigate rising inflation
© Copyright 2013-2018 Samar Mobile